Write For Us

Japan Society Performing Arts 2016-17 Season

Loading...
140 Views
Published
Japan Society Performing Arts 2016-17 Season
Join us at Japan Society to experience the most significant performing artists in Japan today! The season includes an examination of butoh in the 21st century, an analysis of the global influence of noh theater, a range of innovative interpretations of tradition, pop music and entertainment for all ages. Look out for an unprecedented number of themes introduced through performing arts programs presented in conjunction with the Fall gallery exhibition Simon Starling: At Twilight, films, lectures, family events and more. Dive deep and explore these topics from multiple angles!
DANCE
About Kazuo Ohno—Reliving the Butoh Diva's Masterpieces
Friday, September 16, 7:30 PM
Saturday, September 17, 7:30 PM
MUSIC/TRADITIONAL
Sounds to Summon the Japanese Gods
Friday, November 11, 8:30 PM
THEATER/TRADITIONAL
Treasured Noh Plays from the Desk of W. B. Yeats
Saturday, November 19, 7:30 PM
Sunday, November 20, 5 PM
DANCE
Hanasaka Jiisan (The Old Man Who Made Flowers Bloom)
Saturday, December 10, 7:30 PM
Sunday, December 11, 2:30 PM
DANCE
17th Contemporary Dance Showcase: Japan + East Asia
Friday, January 6, 7:30 PM
Saturday, January 7, 7:30 PM
THEATER
Girl X
Thursday, February 16, 7:30 PM
Friday, February 17, 7:30 PM
Saturday, February 18, 7:30 PM
DANCE
Nihon Buyo Dance
Friday, March 3, 8 PM
Saturday, March 4, 8 PM
Sunday, March 5, 4 PM
MUSIC
Godzilla Legend—Music of Akira Ifukube
Friday, April 28, 7:30 PM
------
Visit:
Like:
Follow:
Watch:
Join:
Teach:
Category
ドキュメンタリー - Documentary
Sign in or sign up to post comments.
Be the first to comment